You’re a Girl Scout leader, and I know that you have WAY better things to do than spend time cleaning the house.  Not to mention that you also probably have BINS of scout supplies creeping into every room of your house.   Relax, my Girl Scout warriors, these are signs of someone who spends their time with value, with caring for their own family and for those beyond their doors, someone who has a passion for our future leaders and someone who probably cares about the state of the world, choosing to fight for better opportunities for those in their very own community.  So display your dust-bunnies with pride, there will be plenty of time to clean when the kids are on their own.

I have a neighbor whose house is always tidy.  Don’t get me wrong, I love going to her house!  She may not always have the dishes done, but the house is always very tidy and clean.  A friend came to stay with them and when he saw my house, he looked at her and said “You spend too much time cleaning, look at Darcy’s house, you can tell that she has children living there.” While I knew that was not an accolade to my parenting or cleaning skills, I did take it as a compliment.  That means that people are comfortable here.  A kick off your shoes, put your feet on the coffee table, help yourself to the fridge type of comfortable.  Our house is small, so we do most of our entertaining during the summer in the big backyard.  It too is a bit rustic and we have to dust and de-spider-web everything before we use it (the joys of country living).   I should just pack people inside my little house and let everyone be cozy, right?  Always embarrassed that I don’t have the big living room and big dining room, but wouldn’t that just mean more space to CLEAN?

I recently came across an amazing blog post from Momestery.  You will love her take on the state of her 80’s style kitchen.  When she posted a picture on her popular blog, several people offered ways to “improve” and “update” the look of the kitchen.  This is her response.  Priceless.  Give me Gratitude or Give me Debt.  She had me laughing out loud to her reference to warm diet coke.  Seriously, what did those pioneer women do?  You’ll just have to read the article to understand.

So, in an accolade to Momestery, here is my kitchen in all it’s 80’s pergo floor and oak cabinet style, complete with dog biscuits (and dog in her kennel), dishes on the counter where just a few hours ago, lunches were made with love for my not-so-little-anymore kids.  I am blessed to have a kitchen, to have a family, and to have someplace to call home. Kitchen_photo Now it’s time to get back to planning our troop meetings.  The laundry will just have to wait….

