Have you searched all over the internet for how to make a fake campfire for indoor scout activities?  Well, I did.  I needed a fake campfire for our float that we were building for our town’s lighted parade this September.  I would have a hard time explaining the $100 expense to purchase the pre-made fake campfire, so I figured I could make my own for a lot less.  Here’s the only decent photo I got of the parade float and you can barely see the fire in front of the pink tent (but wasn’t that cool the way we made the pink tent glow?)

OK, back to the fire.  Here are few more photos from when we last used it indoors:

Can you see the green crate under the wood?  This is what holds the “mechanics” of the fire.  We have to stack wood around the crate to make it look like a fire and this is the only part that needs a little work (not to mention it is a pain to cart in all this wood).  Inside the crate, held together with zip ties and a few bamboo sticks for support, are two light fixtures (the clip on type from the hardware store), one with a yellow light and one with an outdoor red flood light.  Go for the extra cost on the flood light, gives a much better glow.  Put these at the bottom of the crate, then rig a small personal fan (like this one) above the lights (this is where the bamboo sticks came in handy).  Above the fan (on top of the crate) line up 3 more bamboo sticks (the kind you find in the garden center for plant stakes) and tape them to the top at a diagonal (but all three are parallel to each other).  Take a white plastic grocery bag and cut out three large flames from the all-white part of the bag.  The plastic from these bags is super thin and light and floats perfectly when lined up with the fan.

Here are the girls putting the wood around the green crate.  You can see the red light on the plastic flames.  Use zip ties to pull all the cords together and attach them to an inexpensive power strip (not the expensive power surge computer type).  When I think of a way to camouflage the power cord running to the wall outlet, I will let you know.

We just cut down an old pine tree and I have a bunch of bark that has released from the wood.  I think I’ll figure out a way to attached the much lighter bark to the outside of the crate so I don’t have to drag the firewood when we want to use it.  Some fake rocks at the bottom would give a good look too.  Watch for fake fire Part II when I have the improvements made.

Anyway, while this is maybe not as clean and neat as the pre-made fires, mine only cost about $30 to put together (got the fan on sale at the end of the summer).   I’ll try to get some more pics of the fire in the dark next time we use it!

